Lululemon: Worth or Waste?

By Jacqueline Delia

For months now, the Lululemon Belt Bag has been sold out everywhere. After it trending all over TikTok, people across the country were running to stores to try and find the perfect travel accessory. Retailing at $38, the bag is nearly impossible to find unless going through a reseller site such as Poshmark.

However, what makes the bag such a hot commodity? Is it the way it perfectly matches all your outfits, how it’s functional for city trips and concerts, or is it because of the name attached to it? Would the product be so successful if it were being sold by Target?

https://relentlesslysassy.com/fashion/lululemon-everywhere-belt-bag

I can admit, I’ve wanted the belt bag for a very long time now and was always rushing to the website to see if they had gone back in stock. However, after borrowing my friend’s bag and wearing it to a concert, I realized that there was truly nothing special about it. It was just another fanny pack bag.

This realization brought me to this article that I’m writing. Is it really worth the money, or is it just because it’s Lululemon that so many people want the bag? This question can be asked about many products made by Lululemon.

For someone who has been wearing their clothes since high school, I can say without a doubt that the quality is not always worth the price. The align leggings in particular constantly are pilling and the fabric doesn’t seem to hold up.

But why do I keep wanting their products if I know the quality isn’t always amazing? We have been conditioned in the fashion industry that expensive means better and brand names trump quality. In high school everyone was wearing Lululemon, so it was hard for me to not want to get their headbands or leggings in every color I could think of.

I don’t have a gripe with all their products. Their sports bras have always been comfortable for me, and I am a consistent wearer of the hottie hot shorts, but I can admit when their products are just not as great.

If you have the belt bag, and you love it and use it, that’s awesome; however, if you don’t, I truly don’t believe you are missing out on anything. There are so many dupes that can be found on Amazon or other stores that will do just the job. You just have to decide yourself whether it’s worth the splurge or if it’s truly just for the name.

Leave a comment