I Stood in Line at the Kylie Pop-Up Shop for Two Hours

By Natalie Volo

So, yes, the title is true. I took a trip to SoHo with a couple of friends to check out the Kylie Cosmetics pop-up shop a few days after it opened. My friends had specific products in mind that they wanted to buy, but I was going more for the experience. I wanted to see what all the hype was about, and I actually did not own any of Kylie Jenner’s infamous lip kits or any of her other products prior to my visit.

1natalie1

The black and pink exterior of the store was definitely attention-grabbing. Once my friends and I got to the end of the line, I further looked at my surroundings. There were surprisingly a lot of young girls in line around me who looked to be in middle school. I was definitely not wearing lipstick in middle school, but I guess young teens do make up a big portion of Kylie’s demographic.

1Natalie2.png

Alright, let’s fast forward to about two hours later when we got to the front of the line. The store employees moved us and about twelve other people to an area right in front of the store. They then proceeded to give each of us a Kylie wristband and had us enter our names and emails into an iPad being passed around, which we were informed was to make the checkout process quicker.

1natalie3

After a little over two hours in the cold, we were allowed into the store. As soon as we walked in, there was a DJ blasting music and pink just about everywhere. It was definitely a lot to take in. Everyone in our group pulled out their phones to add a picture or video to their Snapchat stories. The store was pretty crowded, but I made my way around to look at all the products. There was a wall of clothing and other merchandise like denim jackets, sweatshirts, hats, and more (but they were sold out of the “like, realizing stuff” shirt 😦 ). Then, there was a section of her limited edition and holiday collections. There was also a bed (???) where people were taking pictures. Lastly, there was a huge rainbow wall filled with lip kits. It was crazy.

1Natalie4.png

I ended up buying three products: lip gloss in “Exposed”, matte liquid lipstick in “Koko K”, and the burgundy Kyshadow palette. None of these products were limited edition, and I could have purchased them all online. Moral of the story: if you feel like waiting in a 2 hour (or more) line, the experience is definitely something worth checking out. As far as products go, you can get most of them online without the hassle. So, you definitely do not have to go to the pop-up shop to experience Kylie Cosmetics, but it was definitely an interesting experience.

(As far as the products go, I love the burgundy Kyshadow palette, the matte lip in “Koko K” is a bit drying, but overall really pretty, and the lip gloss in “Exposed” is a good formula, but a bit more orange-toned than I expected.)

Leave a Reply

